Simply Summers

Simplified Chaos

Poor Baby Girl

1 Comment

Well, I had to take Cheyenne for her first sick visit to the doctor yesterday. She had been coughing for a few days, but it was very seldom and I figured with her learning to make new noises, this was just a new noise she had learned. It was just a little cough, no chest congestion or anything, pretty much just a sound. Then on Friday morning, when she was having Grandpa time, he said she sounded a little congested in her nose. I heard it a little and said I’d keep an eye on it throughout the day. I didn’t really notice it the rest of the day or over the weekend. Then Sunday night, when she woke up for her feedings, she was so congested, I could hear it with every breath she took. Poor baby was so stuffy. She was also sneezing a lot and coughing a lot more. So I called her doctor yesterday morning and she couldn’t get in with her doctor, so we saw one of the associates there and we went in yesterday afternoon.

Poor little Cheyenne has an upper respiratory infection. She didn’t get any antibiotics because the doctor said they won’t work and of course she is too young for any over the counter cold medications. So she just told me to get saline drops for her nose and a humidifier to have on at night to help her sleep. It’s funny because I told Mom before I went to the doctor “I can tell you right now what she’ll say. She’ll say to get saline drops for her nose and a cool mist humidifier.” Sure enough that’s exactly what she said. I’ve been around this block a few times, but I wanted to take her to the doctor to make sure it wasn’t in her ears like mine use to. The doctor said it wasn’t in her ears or in her chest thank goodness. Just in her nose for now…good thing I took her in when I did and caught it early. She has a follow-up appointment on Friday to check her again and see how she’s doing and make sure it hasn’t moved into her ears or chest. Then she goes back next Tuesday, if everything is better, for her 2 month check up and shots. If she’s not better though, I will reschedule because I’m not going to get her shots if she’s still sick. Luckily she hasn’t been running a fever, but they said she can run up to 102 degrees. So I’m watching out for that. She seems to be feeling better today, still sneezing and coughing, but she seems to feel better. She slept 7 1/2 hours last night and that was after sleeping practically off an on practically all day yesterday.

I hate it when my babies get sick…she is so young that she doesn’t know what’s going on and can’t tell me when she doesn’t feel good. I always feel so bad when my kids get sick…I just wish I could be sick in their place. I’m just glad it’s not worse than it is!!

One thought on “Poor Baby Girl

  1. Poor thing. Don't forget it's RSV season through September. And watch out for the nasal aspirator (if you are using it at all). As tempting as it is to suck out the snot, it can sometimes make her congestion even worse. I only used it if I could see an obvious booger! Hope she feels better!

Leave a Reply

