Simply Summers

Simplified Chaos

Our First Week (and a half) of Preschool – Letter A

4 Comments

Our first week of preschool sort of got extended into this week as well. Since Cheyenne is so used to having free time most of the time when it’s not meal time, nap time, or bedtime, it has been difficult getting in the groove of things and getting her to realize that she needs to listen and follow directions even though she is so excited and asks to “go do preschool” every morning. So we have stretched our A week into this week and we are about done with the Letter A, although we may do a couple more arts and craft activities if we can manage it.

I do have to say that I am extremely proud of her because in just one week, she has learned the Pledge of Allegiance.  I would have her repeat a few words at a time, then I realized she was putting phrases together without my assistance and then the other day, I heard her (while she was supposed to be taking a nap) laying in her bed reciting the Pledge of Allegiance.  I was amazed!!

Here’s a peek at some of what we did this week for Letter A…..

She traced the Letter A.

She cut out some apples for her apple tree craft.  She’s concentrating so hard!  She loves cutting.

She was really excited about her apple puzzle!  She did this in no time!

She glued her apples to her tree and created a beautiful apple tree!

She did some shape matching and did a great job! This girl knows her shapes. We talked about each shape as she matched them up and named a few things that were each shape.

She was so proud of her upper/lowercase matching!

Pre-writing pages went well.  She obviously needs more work, but she did pretty well considering she’s only done it a couple of times.

Size sorting was a breeze!!

I think her favorite part, other than the cutting and gluing, was the dot paints! She loves to do dot paints!

Pattern matching is no problemo!!

For lunch yesterday, I made her an “A” lunch.  She got 2 letter A peanut butter and jelly sandwiches (the A cookie cutter we have is really small), some letter A cheese and since that was all of the A items I had on hand for this impromptu A lunch, she had some pita chips and vanilla yogurt with red sugar sprinkles.  That was really special, because I have never embellished her yogurt before so she thought that was really cool!

Here she is working on a mosaic puzzle that I picked up at Target Dollar Bins a while back for $1.00.  Every time you put it together, it creates a different picture.  She had fun matching up the same colored triangles to make solid squares as well as mixing up the colors to make cool designs. We talked about how each shape is a triangle, and when two triangles are put together, they make a square.  This will definitely be a fun part of preschool that she will want to do over and over again!

Even though our first week was more like a week and a half, we had fun and I think we are starting to get into more of a routine and as we get more comfortable, I will begin adding more things to do, games to play and crafts.

All of the above activities, except for the mosaic puzzle are from Confessions of a Homeschooler’s Letter of the Week Curriculum.

On a personal note:   I am struggling right now as far as sharing our preschool adventure and daily life.  I’m thinking about posting about our week either on the weekend or the following Monday after our week is over. I’ve also entertained the thought of posting about each day’s activities.  If I post weekly about the preschool aspect, then I can post other days about our playdates, extra arts and crafts and any recipes or any other fun or interesting topics I might want to share.

I would love to hear your thoughts or suggestions, so leave me a comment and let me know what you think!

4 thoughts on “Our First Week (and a half) of Preschool – Letter A

  1. I think one post per preschool lesson would be good, like you did here with the letter A. If you feel it gets too long, you can always just pick out your favorite activities. The last thing you want to do is overwhelm yourself by feeling you need to post more frequently than you can realistically, or you will get burned out quick. Honestly I don’t know how some bloggers do it.

    • Thanks Leigh Ann. That’s kind of what I was thinking too. I have also thought about breaking it up into 2 parts if it gets too long, but just doing each lesson will allow me to post other things we do on other days if I have something worth sharing. I don’t know how other bloggers do it either. Some of the ones I follow post about their lessons one day and then other learning opportunities or arts and crafts or whatever on other days. I think I’ll just ease into it and see where it goes and how I adjust. 🙂 Thanks for the feedback!!

  2. Test comment….seeing if this works.

  3. Pingback: B Week (or two) « Simply Summers

Leave a Reply

