Simply Summers

Simplified Chaos

Fall Scene Craft

5 Comments

Cheyenne has been sick the last few days, so we haven’t been doing much preschool on those days.  I’ve been trying to get her to rest and stay pretty still, but that is near impossible for a 3 year old….or at least my 3 year old. Cheyenne is a very active child that loves to run, sing, dance and jump.  So trying to get her to stay settled and take it easy the last few days has been a real challenge.  If she gets too active, she starts coughing and the snot starts flowing freely.

Yesterday, she asked to do a craft.  She has just recently really been interested in crafts and wanting to do different crafts all the time.  She will see me looking at the blogs I follow and she wants to do the crafts.

So yesterday she wanted to do a craft so I got her some blue construction paper and cut some green construction paper to look like grass.  Then I drew a tree, very poorly I might add, and gave her some fall foam stickers of different colored leaves, acorns, apples and pumpkins.  She started putting the leaves on all of the poorly drawn branches until she had an awesome tree and she even put some pumpkins on the ground around the tree.  She put some acorns on the tree along with the leaves and even put an apple on the ground beside the tree too.

Then I got a paper towel tube and cut the ends to have points on them to resemble the sun.  Mind you, I am not creative and I am not an artist, so it is really hard for me to prepare for her crafts sometimes.  Anyway, my poor “sun” didn’t turn out quite right, but Cheyenne loved dipping it in the paint and stamping the sun on her paper.  Then she used her finger to fill in the sun.

Here is her finished craft. I think she did such a great job and she had so much fun.  It was also good for working fine motor skills by removing the backing from the foam stickers and she did a great job doing them all by herself.

We haven’t really been doing very much arts and crafts due to the fact that I am in the process of trying to organize all of our craft supplies.  I won a huge box of craft supplies and kits a while back so I have that along with a huge tote full of stickers, stamps, chenille sticks, glue sticks, popsicle sticks, beads, and so many other things that I probably don’t even realize I have.  I look at all of it sometimes and have to just walk away, because I have no idea where to start.  If anyone has any great ideas, tips or suggestions for storing craft supplies, please leave a comment and share them.

5 thoughts on “Fall Scene Craft

  1. She did great! My 3 year old has been sick today, so we might do something like this tomorrow if I need to “calm” him down!

    As far as craft supplies, I use clear jars (spaghetti/jelly/canning) for things like large beads or pompoms. Chenille sticks stand up straight in tall, thin vases. I use Ziploc bags for stickers. Then I bought a storage unit at the hardware store–the kind with different sized clear drawers–it works well for small beads, google eyes, buttons and the like. Now the closet where these things are stored…not necessarily “neat” but doable!

    • Thanks Brittney! I use Ziploc bags for stickers too and I use a spaghetti jar for pompoms. I like the vase idea for chenille sticks. I’ll have to try that!! My main problem is not having place to put all the jars, bags, kits, etc. I may just have to invest in a bookshelf! LOL Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I loved this craft it os so cute! I have saved it on my to-do list! Thanks so much for sharing it with us! Have a great fall!

  3. Pingback: B Week (or two) « Simply Summers

Leave a Reply

