Simply Summers

Simplified Chaos

Magnet Gems…a big hit!!

1 Comment

I’ve seen these on a few of the preschool sites that I follow and thought it was a great idea, so I made some for Cheyenne!!  Enter Magnet Gems!! They are just simply a bag of the colored gems you can get from the dollar store.  They are the ones that are flat on the bottom and rounded on top.  I had some magnetic strips, so I just cut those into little squares and stuck them on the back.

You can also hot glue them, but I just stuck them on for now and if I have a problem with them coming off, I will dig out my hot glue gun and glue them on.

When I went to the dollar store, they were out of the smaller gems, so I got the larger ones and I couldn’t picture the size of the dots on our magnet pages, but it turns out these are a little big. They still work, they are just pretty crowded, so I will be going back or going to another dollar store to get some of the smaller ones.

Here she is working on her Letter B Magnet page from Confessions of a Homeschooler’s Letter of the Week Curriculum.

These can still be used for lots of other things like free play on the cookie sheet, which she loved!   She loves just being able to do her own thing.  This little girl is very strong willed and loves to do things her way!  🙂   We did make some letters and numbers with the gems on the cookie sheet, but I didn’t get any pictures of that.  She liked just moving them around and trying to make things by herself.

Give them a try!! Cheyenne loves them!! 🙂

One thought on “Magnet Gems…a big hit!!

  1. Pingback: B Week (or two) « Simply Summers

Leave a Reply

