Simply Summers

Simplified Chaos

C is for Caterpillar Craft

5 Comments

This is C week and we are having a great time with all of our C activities!! Stay tuned this weekend for the recap of our C week.

But until then, I wanted to share our Caterpillar Craft we did today.

Items you will need:

egg carton – (I cut Cheyenne’s into a 3 section caterpillar)

pipe cleaners (we used 2)

2 googly eyes

paints and paintbrush

glue

black marker (to draw the mouth)

 

I started off cutting the egg carton in half and then in half again to make four 3-section caterpillars.  Then I let Cheyenne paint her caterpillar whatever color she wanted.  She chose blue…she is on a blue kick right now.  Anytime she paints, most of what she does is blue.

I did touch up a few spots that were deep crevasses that she couldn’t get, but I think she did a great job!!

Then we took a break and let it dry for a while.

This is the part where Mom is necessary.  Mom, take some scissors or other small pointy object and poke holes on top of the head for the antennae.  Then poke holes along the sides for the legs.  I cut two pieces of pipe cleaner for the antennae about 3 or 4 inches long.  Then I cut another pipe cleaner plus just a tad from another one into 8 pieces about 2 inches long.

I put a little blob of glue where the eyes would go and Cheyenne glued the eyes on.  Then she put the antennae through the holes on the head.  I bent the end that was inside the egg carton a little so they would stay in.  Then I drew a little mouth and nose on the face of her caterpillar.

Then she put the legs through the holes I had poked in the body of the caterpillar.

After I fixed the googly eye that went travelling, I bent the small end of the legs that was inside so they would stay in and I bent the bottom out just a little to look like feet.

I think it turned out pretty cute and she has been carrying it everywhere with her ever since.  They were sitting watching tv together a few minutes ago and when I asked her to put up her toys she had been playing with, she employed the caterpillar to help her.  Such a silly girl!

Let me know if you get a chance to try this!  I would love to see the beautiful creations of your little ones!   🙂

5 thoughts on “C is for Caterpillar Craft

  1. LOVE!!!

    Would like to get the curriculum for “H” too. Curious about the curriculum, did you download the printables free of charge, ordered the cd or payed for all the downloads?

    Thanks

  2. Thanks Kara! If you go to her website – http://www.confessionsofahomeschooler.com/, you can download most of the pages individually for free under ABC’s and 123’s, but I didn’t want to spend that much time downloading each page, so I just purchased the download of the entire curriculum for $10. It has all of the pages for each letter, plus a lesson plan already typed out for each day of each letter, although you can do it in whatever order you like. There are also lots of extras that come with it too. I am extremely happy with it, Cheyenne loves doing preschool and it was definitely worth the $10. Enjoy!! Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Pingback: Letter C Week(s) « Simply Summers

  4. So fun! I love the little caterpillars. Sounds like you’ve got your own curriculum, but if you’re looking into lessons on Owls, this is a post I did about a craft I saw on Pinterest. http://mominfortcollins.wordpress.com/2012/05/23/gettin-crafty-recycled-art-owls/

Leave a Reply

