Simply Summers

Simplified Chaos

Letter C Week(s)

8 Comments

Cheyenne started Mother’s Day Out last week so our C week extended from the week before into last week due to all of the preparations to get ready for Mother’s Day Out.

Cheyenne loves the letter C since that’s what her name starts with!  She had lots of fun this week or two and she is learning so fast.

Cheyenne loves doing preschool and does most of the activities with no fuss or problems.  Every once in a while, she doesn’t want to do something, so I don’t force her, I just put it away to try another time and she’s usually more willing to do it later.  She is very strong willed and sometimes that makes things hard, so I just have to follow her lead.

As always, all of our pages are from Confessions of a Homeschooler, unless otherwise noted.  I purchased her Letter of the Week Curriculum, which in my opinion is worth the $10 price to get everything together for each letter, plus lots of extras.  You can also download each page individually for free if you just want a few certain pages.

One thing she loves is the letter/color matching puzzles from Confessions of a Homeschooler.  You can find it here.

One of her other favorite parts of preschool is dot paints.  I often have to find more dot pages from other sites for her to do too because she loves it so much!!

Here she is doing her letter C Dot paint.

I got this a few months back as a fan freebie from 1+1+1=1 on their Facebook page, but I just checked and when I clicked on it, nothing happened, so it may not be available any more.

I love that she is really getting into writing lately.  She wants to trace words, letters and sometimes she will even go over to her chalk/white board and start writing letters and I’m amazed that most of them she is getting right!  We just started working on writing and tracing and she is doing great!!  🙂

She did some counting by placing the correct number of erasers on each numbered caterpillar.  You can find these here.

She really loved this page.  It’s a little short story and she is supposed to circle each letter C on the page.  This page is from Confessions of a Homeschooler but wasn’t in Letter of the Week curriculm and I have searched the site for this page and can’t find it anywhere, so it may not be available anymore.

Cheyenne loved finding each letter C and circling it. She was so proud of herself!!

We did a Letter C craft and made an Egg Carton Caterpillar!!  She loved this.  She is really getting to where she loves doing crafts so I will be working more of those into our week but those will be posted separately as we do them.

She really loves cutting and will often ask for blank paper just so she can cut it.  She is getting good at holding the paper so she can cut properly and she is also learning to turn the paper and hold it differently as she cuts different directions.

Cheyenne’s C lunch this week wasn’t anything special because I hadn’t been to the store and didn’t have a lot of choices.  But it is amazing how many things start with C when you start looking around.  This week she had her Letter C pb&j sandwich and a cat sandwich, C cheese, chips and a cookie.  Believe it or not, she did eat her entire lunch before she ate her cookie!!

Rolling the die for the dice game. She loves to roll the die and  find that number on the caterpillar.  This can be downloaded here.

I found a pair of tongs that I had gotten for her quite a while back and put away then forgot all about them so I gave her those along with some pom poms in a bowl and had her move them from the bowl to the muffin pan.  I didn’t worry about doing it by color this time.  I just wanted her to get used to using the tongs.  She had a good time doing this and then asked to do it again later.

She loves the letter mazes from 1+1+1=1!!  Here she followed the letter C through the maze to help the kitty get to his bed.

Probably her favorite thing is the poke pages!!  Here she is doing her C poke page.  She loves to get her toothpick and sit or lay on the floor and poke along the lines of the letters.  These are part of the Letter of the Week Curriculum, but I can’t find anywhere on the site where it is available individually.

This week I came across a Letter Hunt from Me & Marie Learning.  We flipped through a couple of magazines and cut out several different letter Cs and Cheyenne has grown really fond of the glue stick so she had a blast gluing on all of the letter Cs. You can find all of Me & Marie’s letter packs here.  Just scroll down to Alphabet Learning Packs and click on the letters you want.  There’s lots of fun pages for each letter and I will definitely be working more of these pages into Cheyenne’s weekly lessons.

A few of the things we found  were her cup, a cd, chicken leg from her play food set, a candle, a coaster, her caterpillar she made just to name a few.

She loves doing her letter collages and this week she did cork painting on the uppercase C.

She put Cheerios on her lowercase c…at least the ones she didn’t eat.   🙂

Cheyenne came up to me one day and said she wanted to do a Halloween craft.  Off-hand, being the non-creative person that I am, I couldn’t think of anything related to Halloween that started with C so we did this cute Footprint Ghost.  She had a blast and it’s such a cute keepsake!!

8 thoughts on “Letter C Week(s)

  1. Cute, cute, cute! Love how you combined activities form so many different sources…I do that too!

  2. Thanks Carisa!! I think it helps round things out a little and give her something a little different from time to time and as I get more comfortable and in a groove, I hope to start pulling a few more activities to add to her curriculum. Thanks for stopping by!! 🙂

  3. great ideas! I’ll have to check out confessions of a homeschooler too . . . we’re also doing letter of the week 🙂 It looks like your daughter (who is adorable!) is learning lots while having so much fun!

    • Thank you so much! I love using Confessions of a Homeschooler’s Letter of the Week curriculum. I purchased the entire download for $10 and it is definitely worth it. Some of the pages, I haven’t been able to find on the site plus there are lots of extras. Another good site that I pull from a lot is http://www.1plus1plus1equals1.net/ They have a lot of cute themed printables and SO MUCH MORE!! My daughter is having so much fun and even asks to do preschool on the weekends sometimes! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and feel free to subscribe by email so you don’t miss any of our fun!! 🙂

  4. Where did you get the Letter c do a dot with the uppercase and lowercase?

  5. Hi Whitney! Thanks for stopping by! The Letter C do a dot came with the Letter of the Week Curriculum from Confessions of a Homeschooler. The link for the entire curriculum is near the top of my post. A lot of the pages are available for free on her site, you just have to go to ABC’s and 123’s near the top of the page and scroll down to whichever letter you are looking for. This particular one I don’t see on her site, but there is another do a dot available here: http://www.confessionsofahomeschooler.com/blog/2009/10/prek-letter-c.html
    It doesn’t have upper and lower case though, just uppercase and a caterpillar. I hope this helps! Thanks again for stopping by! 🙂

  6. Lots of fun stuff! I envy you being able to focus on just her. Activities like this are hard to manage for us.

    • It really is a lot of fun Leigh Ann. I see several blogs/websites that homeschool several different children in different grades and I just don’t see how they do it. Cheyenne is not one to work independently, so that wouldn’t work for us. 🙂

Leave a Reply

