Simply Summers

Simplified Chaos

Paper Tube Turkey

8 Comments

I’ve seen so many cute crafts for Thanksgiving and today I decided to let Cheyenne make a Paper Tube Turkey after she got home from Mother’s Day Out.

I gathered all the supplies:  Paper plate, toilet paper tube, 2 googly eyes, paints (we used brown, orange, red and yellow), glue and scissors.

First, Cheyenne painted the tube brown for the body of her turkey.  I was pleasantly surprised by how well she did.  I was expecting paint all over the place and just patches of paint on the tube, but she did a great job all by herself.  I just had to smooth out a couple of spots where she got the paint a little thick.

Then we had to take a break because it was time for me to fix dinner and our turkey body needed to dry.

After our delicious dinner of Parmesan Crusted Tilapia, Parmesan Roasted Green Beans, and hushpuppies, we cleared the table and got back to work.

When we got back to work, I cut the paper plate in half and set out some red, yellow and orange paint.  She painted the paper plate a beautiful medley of red, yellow and orange.

I put two dots of glue on our dried turkey body and Cheyenne put the googly eyes on.

Then I put some glue on the back of the turkey body and down the center of the paper plate and Cheyenne glued the body to the feathers.  I think it turned out pretty cute and she is so proud of her turkey craft.  Cheyenne is really getting into crafts now and she is getting better at it and better at doing specific tasks for each project.

Let me know if you get a chance to do this cute craft and how your little one enjoyed it.

Linking up with:

                                                       

8 thoughts on “Paper Tube Turkey

  1. Good job, Cheyenne. I love it. Tried to get Pops to make me one, but he couldn’t do it.
    Mimi

  2. Haha!! When I told Cheyenne about your comment she said to me “Well, you have to teach him. You are so good. Make sure you take a paper plate!” Silly little girl….she had fun with this craft!! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and come again!!

  3. Cute and simple! I would love for you to add this and any other of your posts to my weekly Mom’s Library Link-Up.
    http://heymommychocolatemilk.blogspot.com/2012/11/co-hosting-moms-library-4-for-me.html

    Thanks and Be Blessed,
    Julie

  4. Thank you Julie! I would love to link up to Mom’s Library Link-Up!! I’ll get it right up. Thanks again and thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  5. Thanks for sharing this activity on Tuesday Tots 🙂 I’m featuring this craft in a Thanksgiving roundup on next week’s Tuesday Tots! You’re welcome to come and grab a TT featured button if you like. 🙂

    • Thank you so much Debs!! I have just revamped my blog and started posting our preschool at home journey and our arts and crafts we have been doing. I am so excited to be featured!! Thanks again!! 🙂

  6. What a cute turkey! what a fun project!

    Thanks for linking up to TGIF! Have a great week,
    Beth =-)

  7. Thanks Beth! It was pretty fun!! Thanks for stopping by and have a great Thanksgiving! 🙂

Leave a Reply

