Simply Summers

Simplified Chaos

Pumpkin Pie Play Dough

6 Comments

I have to admit, fall is probably my favorite season…at least right now.  Spring and Fall are pretty much tied in my mind. I love them both equally…summer is too hot, especially here in Texas. Winter is too cold for my liking, even though it’s nothing compared to the winters up north. But I love fall and I’m so glad it is here!  We are finally starting to experience some fall-like temps after our almost 90* week last week. This week it is in the 70s and I love it!!

Now that it seems that fall may finally be here…better late than never….I decided we needed to make some Pumpkin Pie Play Dough.  I found this simple recipe at 2 Big 2 Little.

Here’s what you need:

1 cup flour
2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 cup salt
2 tbsp cream of tartar
2 tbsp cooking oil
1 cup water
red and yellow food coloring (unless you can find orange…I couldn’t)

Once you have all of your ingredients ready, get a medium pot and add all ingredients except for the water and food coloring.  Add your food coloring to the water until you have the desired shade, but note it will be darker than what the water looks like.  Ours was a pretty orange and I was actually afraid it was going to be too bright orange, because I actually wanted a little darker, spicier look and luckily that’s exactly how it turned out.  Once you have colored your water, pour it into your pot and mix everything very well.

Stir over medium heat approximately 4-5 minutes, or until the dough forms a ball in the center of the pot.

Remove from the pot onto your counter or cutting board and let cool.  It will be very hot…believe me.  🙂

Once it is cool, knead it for a little bit until soft and smooth.  I probably kneaded longer than necessary because I love play dough and warm pumpkin pie scented play dough is just like a little slice of Heaven.  🙂

Of course, I couldn’t have all the fun. Cheyenne had to get in on the kneading fun because she loves to help!  I think she really just wanted me to leave it alone so she could play with it.  Then she took it in to her table and got some cookie cutters and went to town playing with her new play dough.

This was so fun!  Since the first time we made play dough, I have loved it!  Cheyenne loves to play with play dough and we love making it.  It lasts so much longer than store bought (as long as it is picked up) and is safer in the even a wee one decides to put it in their mouth, plus you can color and scent your play dough however you want.  There are so many ways to make, color, and scent play dough along with many additives that can be added and so many endless ways to play with it.  Can you tell we love play dough??

I hope you get a chance to make this wonderful play dough.  My hands smelled so good after making this that I didn’t want to wash my hands.  But of course, I did.

Let me know if you make this and how your little ones like it!  Welcome fall!!  Better late than never….

 

 

 

Linking up with:

                        

6 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pie Play Dough

  1. Hi Lori!
    Thanks for the post. We just tried it and it was a lot of fun! So much so they even wanted to eat it. They did try it…too salty, lol;-)

    • LOL! You’re welcome Kara! It is fun and it smells so wonderful. The good thing about it is that at least if they do try to eat it, it is safe, although very salty, but won’t harm them like store brands could. 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed it and thanks for stopping by!! 🙂

  2. I bet your playdough smells wonderful!! I love homemade playdough – and seasonal homemade playdough is even better!!!

    I featured this at TGIF this week here: http://livinglifeintentionally.blogspot.com/2012/11/tgif-linky-party-552-weeks-long.html

    Thanks for sharing your creativity and linking up at TGIF!! Have a great weekend,
    Beth =-)

    • Thank you so much Beth!! It does smell so yummy!! I too love homemade playdough – it’s so much cheaper, safer and there’s so many varieties/colors/scents you can make! Thank you so much for featuring our craft!! I’ve recently revamped the blog to include out preschool journey at home and our arts and crafts so this means so much to be featured!! Thanks again!! 🙂 I hope you and your family have a great weekend and Thanksgiving week!! 🙂

  3. Mm I bet it smelled heavenly! We love scented playdough. It makes it so much more special! Thanks for sharing with The Sunday Showcase.

    • It smelled wonderful Allison!! We’ve made play dough several times, but this was the first time we made scented play dough and my daughter thought it was so cool!! We’ll definitely be making more in the future!! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

