Simply Summers

Simplified Chaos

Shaving Cream Painting Placemat

11 Comments

Today I had the brilliant idea to combine a couple of different crafts that I have seen floating around on Pinterest and modify them a bit.  I have seen Shaving Cream Painting all over the internet and have been hesitant to try it, not because I am a neat freak, if you know me, you know that is not true, but because it seems like such a big mess and can get all over the place.  Well, I put my fears aside today and decided to let Cheyenne try it.

I have also seen placemats made from contact paper and leaves or whatever between the two sheets of contact paper.

I decided I was going to combine the two and voila….Shaving cream painting placemats!!

I got all of our supplies out:

All you need is a can of shaving cream, paint (we used red, yellow an orange), a large baking sheet or container (not pictured), paper or pictures, straight edged instrument (we used a ruler)

I had printed off some templates of different shaped leaves earlier in the day.

I covered the baking sheet in shaving cream and dripped the paint all over the surface of it.

Then I took a paintbrush and just lightly swirled the colors around in the shaving cream, but not too much or the colors will start to blend and you won’t get the marbled look.

Then we laid our paper on the shaving cream and gently pressed down and sort of rubbed around the paper with our hands.

Then I took the paper off and starting at one end, scraped the ruler across the paper to get all of the shaving cream off.  It left a beautiful marbled paper!  Doesn’t it look pretty??  🙂

I did notice that after the first page, the marbling effect went away and it was just mixed colors.  I didn’t have any more paint, as we used the last of it setting this up. Next time, I may have to try adding more paint between pages if we do more than one.

Then I decided to put my fears aside and let her play with the shaving cream since she had been wanting to touch it and play with it the whole time.

She had a blast!!

                          

So while she was playing, I set the papers aside to dry.  After her nap, I cut the shapes out and then we made her placemat.

I didn’t get any pics of the actual making of the placemat, because I suddenly had a great idea to make a border and completely forgot to take pictures.

What we did was cut 2 sheets of wax paper to the size we wanted the placemat to be.  We plugged our iron in to heat up.  Then we placed the leaf shapes on one piece of wax paper and placed the second piece on top of it.  I decided to make a little border around it, so I cut some strips out of brown construction paper and had to do a little patching and gluing to make it the right size, but made a little brown border to go around the edge of the placemat.  Then I placed that on the bottom piece of wax paper and then placed the second piece on top.  Then I took the iron and ironed over the placemat very slowly to heat up the wax paper and let it fuse together.

While I did the ironing, Cheyenne went for a walk with my dad and collected some pecans, so she wasn’t around.  Make sure the ironing is a mom-only job!  Little ones can get burned so easily.  When Cheyenne came back from her walk, she was so pleased to see her placemat! She thought it was so cool and loved that she made it, except for the ironing.

My dad thought it was neat what we were going to do, so when he and Cheyenne went for their walk, they also collected some leaves and he made one with the leaves they collected!!  It turned out pretty cute too!

We are loving fall around here and today a cold front finally came through to give us more fall-like weather.  It has been in the mid to upper 80’s here in Texas, yes, even in November.  But today a cold front came through and it is in the 50s now!  I love fall, because I hate winter.  I am not a fan of cold.  I can handle upper 50s to about mid 80s so we have a very short time each year that I am completely happy! 🙂

I hope you all get a chance to try this!  Let me know how it goes for you.

Linking up with:

                                     

11 thoughts on “Shaving Cream Painting Placemat

  1. Super cute! The girls would love that!

    • It was fun! I did the actual putting it together, but Cheyenne loved the shaving cream painting and once she was done, playing in the shaving cream was the best experience ever!! She didn’t want to stop, but it was naptime. 🙂 She was also proud because she got to put the leaves on the wax paper to set her design. It was really fun and I think the girls would have a great time!! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  2. This is a very fun idea! Thank you.

  3. You are very welcome!! Thanks for stopping by and come again or better yet, subscribe by e-mail and you won’t miss any of our fun projects!! 🙂

  4. Pingback: The Sunday Showcase: Paint Techniques - Here Come the Girls

    • Thank you so much Rebecca!! I am so honored. I have just recently revamped my blog to track our journey into preschool at home and arts and crafts and it means to much to me to be featured on such a great link-up!! Thanks again and thanks for stopping by and come again!! 🙂

  5. This is such a neat idea!
    Hopping by from Reading Confetti’s Weekly Kid’s Co-op linky 🙂

Leave a Reply

