Simply Summers

Simplified Chaos

Our Awesome Thanksgiving 2012

Leave a comment

We had such a great Thanksgiving this year and I’m so pleased it went so smoothly.  I hosted Thanksgiving for the first time this year and it was awesome!  I spent a week cleaning the house from top to bottom with the help of my dad and wanted to have a nice, traditional Thanksgiving.  I got out the nice china and bought some new tablecloths and napkins and got the tables set and looking pretty.

            

My grandparents ordered a Greenberg turkey and for those of you who don’t know what that is, check it out and just know that it is the best tasting turkey on Earth!!  I had to sample it after my dad carved it and my whole childhood came flooding back!  We used to get these all the time when I was a kid and they are delicious!

So I didn’t have to worry about the turkey and I actually got my pea salad and pasta salad made the day before so that morning I only had to make my sweet potato casserole and whip up my spinach dip while my dad made the Hash Brown potato casserole.  Everything was ready early that morning, so that when we got word that my sister, brother-in-law and nieces were almost there, we could just put everything in the oven to warm through.

I was so blessed  to have such a great Thanksgiving and have my whole family there.  Both of my sets of grandparents were there, my parents, my uncle and my sister, brother-in-law and nieces.

This picture warms my heart…all of my grandparents getting together for Thanksgiving.

I also loved seeing all of the cousins together!!  They had a great time….not eating that is.  None of the kids really ate much.  They were too busy having fun.  🙂

Then on Friday we went to White Rock Lake to feed the ducks, which is beginning to be a Thanksgiving tradition.  We took them all to feed the ducks last year and again this year.  It was fun to see them get so excited to feed the ducks, although I was freaking out the whole time, afraid one of them was going to fall in the lake.

There was a park just a short drive around the lake so since we went through our bread so fast, we decided to let them play on the playground for a while.  Cheyenne found this little bridge and she decided to crawl on the wall.  Goofy girl!

Cheyenne thought she was so cool and had so much fun pushing her big brother, Devon on the swing.

After some lunch, we attempted to go to an event that I had heard about but it ended up being a bust and wasn’t as great as it was last year and so we ended up leaving and meeting my parents for dinner.  Cheyenne taught her littlest cousin Zoe how do to funny faces.  They were hilarious.  They would make the funny faces and then bust out laughing at each other.  It was so cute and I sure wish they lived closer.  At least they are only about 3 hours away so we get to see them several times each year, but I sure wish they lived here so we could see them and hang out more often.  These girls have so much fun together and though all 4 of them are between the ages of 2 and 4, they all get along so well and play  together wonderfully!

I’m so glad that we had such a wonderful Thanksgiving with our entire family and I can’t wait to do it again next year!  I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving as well!!

Leave a Reply

