Simply Summers

Simplified Chaos

Break Time

2 Comments

We are going to be taking a break from Preschool until after the first of the year. We had a housesitting job for 3 weeks and when we got home, Cheyenne came down with a nasty cold. Once we got home, we started decorating for Christmas so now it is next to impossible to move all of the school stuff into the living room, which will be our new school room. We are also going to be making a trip down to Austin to see my sister, brother-in-law and nieces for Christmas. Cheyenne is super excited to go see her cousins and I’m pretty excited myself. We only get to see them a few times a year, like Thanksgiving, Christmas, and all of the kids’ birthdays, so we love it when we get to go down there and visit for a while.

So unfortunately, we are having to take a break and will resume after the first of the year once the holiday is over and I can get everything moved and set up in the living room. But until then, I am hoping to do some fun Christmas crafts!!

Here is one we did yesterday and was quite fun. I got the idea from Pinterest, where I get most of my ideas. We made Christmas Fingerprint Lights and I think it turned out pretty cute!

100_5566

I was going to use stamp pads so it wouldn’t be quite so thick, but unfortunately our inkpads were a bit dried out and we couldn’t get a good fingerprint, so guess what just got added to our Christmas list?  😉

Supplies:

White paper (I took a regular sheet of white construction paper and cut it in half)

Different colors of paint (or stamp pads if you have them)

Black marker

Green or red construction paper to mount on if desired

I just got some paint and rather than just squirting it on to a plate, I actually got a paintbrush and painted a thin amount on the plate and kind of used that as an inkpad.  It worked out okay and looks cute!  I drew the “cord” first and then helped Cheyenne put her fingerprint lights along the cord.  Then I drew the light bases and mounted it on green paper so it wouldn’t look too plain.  I think it turned out pretty cute and when Grandpa got home last night, she was so excited to show him her artwork!!

Hopefully we’ll get around to some more Christmas projects and I can’t wait until after the first of the year to get everything moved and set up to start preschool again!!

Asign

2 thoughts on “Break Time

  1. It looks super cute and so cheerful-looking! Thanks for stopping by our blogs & leaving comments 🙂

Leave a Reply

