Simply Summers

Simplified Chaos

Big Changes are Coming!!

1 Comment

Well, the holidays are all over and it is time to resume normal activity. Is there such a thing? I don’t think so…chaos is our normal.

I have to say since Cheyenne started going to Mother’s Day Out, it has been more difficult to keep our schedule of preschool and have been a little lax about it. With the new year, one of my goals is to get my butt in gear and do this.

I have been using the Letter of the Week curriculum from Confessions of a Homeschooler and I thought it was great! I loved all of the fun pages for each letter and the activites that can go along with them. I have since come to discover that it is not challenging enough for Cheyenne. Cheyenne has already mastered the majority of the preschool skills. Before the age of 3 she already could sing the alphabet, recognize letters (upper and lower case) and tell me what sounds each letter made. She could also count to 20 and knew her colors and shapes all by or right around her 3rd birthday. She is now asking me quite often what letter words start with and she will sound it out and tell me. Her vocabulary is amazing and she is wanting to write all the time.

So taking all of that into account, I have made the decision to start Kindergarten work with her. When I look at the Kindergarten lessons, they seem more on her level and I think she will be more interested because she won’t get bored with stuff she already knows. There will be lots of review for things she knows, but I think she will enjoy being able to do things that she is ready to do and wanting to do. I will still be incorporating some of the preschool work into our lessons because some of the preschool pages she really liked, so I will be adding those in. I purchased the K-4 Curriculum from Confessions of a Homeschooler and I am so excited to get started next week. I have been spending this week printing, laminating, cutting, printing and laminating some more.

I also came across the You Can Read! program at 1+1+1=1 and purchased that to incorporate into our lessons as Cheyenne is so interested in spelling and writing right now. It is a wonderful program and is created for children who are showing reading readiness signs at a younger age (approx. 3-5). There are 4 words in each unit and there are 18 units. It looks like it will be a lot of fun with many different activities for each set of words that help with reading.

I have also purchased the Road Trip USA Geography and History Curriculum from Confessions of a Homeschooler. I love this curriculum! It covers 5 regions, including all 50 states, state symbols, U.S. Presidents, famous people, landmarks, historical events, and more. It is designed for K-4th grade which I love because I can use only what I think Cheyenne is capable of understanding at this age, but can continue using it for a few years and expanding each year to cover more details and history.

I have been reading, following blogs, and being quite overwhelmed for quite a while and was beginning to wonder if I was ever going to make it in the homeschool world. I have prayed for the answers, the wisdom and the ability to make this work for our family. I believe He is in the process of answering my prayers. For some reason today, while Cheyenne was in Mother’s Day Out and I could actually think, things just clicked. I figured out an organization system (more on that later), which I have really been struggling with lately since I don’t have a dedicated school room, and I got a clear picture in my mind of how this was going to go. I have moved all of our school stuff into the living room and put a bookshelf in there to keep our stuff on. So I printed, I laminated, I printed some more, I cut some stuff, I laminated some more. I feel so much better now and I don’t feel as overwhelmed. I have some great curricula that I am looking forward to starting and working them all together.

Asign

One thought on “Big Changes are Coming!!

  1. Pingback: Kindergarten A-Z Review Week « Simply Summers

Leave a Reply

