Simply Summers

Simplified Chaos

Our First Trip to the Dallas Arboretum

Leave a comment

Believe it or not, I am 37 years old, almost 38 and have lived here in Dallas, Texas all of my life and have never been to the Dallas Arboretum even though it is only about 10 minutes from my house.  Well, today, I went to the Arboretum for the first time!  My friend Julie has a membership to the Arboretum so when she asked us if we wanted to go with her and her granddaughter, we jumped at the chance.  It was pretty cool. Of course right now, there aren’t any cool displays set up and being winter (even though it was 80* today) there weren’t a lot of pretty flowers either.  There were a lot of pansies and of course all of the trees, bushes and other plants, but not very many flowers.  But there was so much else to see, that it was still a wonderful trip and we plan on going many more times and making this trip often.

Cheyenne and Alexis are planning our route through the Arboretum….because they don’t think we are capable.  We did get turned around a few times, so maybe we should have let them lead the way.  🙂

Cheyenne and Alexis planning their route at the Arboretum.

My pretty little angel sitting outside of the sod house.  It was closed for repairs, so we couldn’t let them go in.  They tried to crawl in through the windows though.

100_6097

They thought it was pretty fun to sit in the covered wagon….

Sitting in the covered wagon

Cheyenne loved the teepee.  Inside there were animal hides hanging up and some primitive pots and tools.

Cool teepee at the Arboretum

I swear these girls had to sit on every bench there was…there is a ton of benches there.  It could have something to do with my obsession of benches.  I just love pictures of little girls sitting on benches, so the first few we saw, I had them sit to take a picture.  I’m sure you can figure out how long sitting on the bench actually lasted….not even long enough to snap a picture before they were up and running around and seeing what else they could see.

100_6104

Something just struck me about this view and I had to snap a picture.  I love this picture.

100_6105

They have an infinity gazing pool and it is so pretty the way it looks like it just runs into the lake that is right behind the Arboretum.

Infinity pool....looks like it continues into White Rock Lake...beautiful!!

Again, I just thought this was pretty and peaceful.

Pretty!!

Good times with good friends are what life is all about!  This has to be one of the most precious pictures I have ever seen and I’m so glad I was able to capture this shot.  These girls are so sweet to each other and it was amazing the way they helped and looked out for each other today.

100_6112-2

I think they are reflecting on how tough it is being a kid, but how fun it can be at the same time.  They look so deep in thought.

Reflecting on how tough it is being a kid....

This was just another beautiful shot.

100_6117

The waterfalls were so cool.  I couldn’t get them to stand still and look at me for a good pic.  By this time, it was hot and the girls were getting a little tired.

100_6119

This was so pretty.  I bet it will be beautiful in the spring when they are in bloom.  I thought this would be a beautiful shot for a bridal portfolio.

Beautiful...

I always think this decorative kale is so pretty.

I just thought this was pretty!!

We had such a fun time at the Arborteum today and can’t wait to go back.  We will definitely be adding this to our regular rounds of field trips and fun outings.

I can’t wait to see it in the spring when everything is in bloom!  They are currently doing a lot of construction right now and will be opening a Children’s garden later this year and some other new parts of the Arboretum as well.  I am excited to see what all is coming!

 

Asign

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

