Simply Summers

Simplified Chaos

St. Patrick’s Day Man

4 Comments

We made a fun craft the other day, and I never got it posted….surprise!  Being as it is St. Patrick’s Day, I figured I better get it posted for those of you that want a last-minute St. Patrick’s Day craft because aren’t you all like me and wait until the last minute??

100_6614

We had fun with this one….once I got everything ready.  I made the mistake of telling Cheyenne we were going to do a craft, then had to get everything ready while she was wanting to do her craft.  Why I didn’t get everything cut out and ready ahead of time, I will never know.  Hindsight is 20/20 and next time I will know…..

Anyway, I gathered our supplies:

You will need:

green construction paper

white construction paper

2 googly eyes

scissors

glue

black marker

large and small shamrock templates

I would highly suggest getting everything cut out ahead of time unless you have an older child that can cut the shamrocks easily.

Then take your white paper and cut 4 strips about an inch wide and fold each of those accordion-style.

100_6600

After this point, I pretty much let Cheyenne do the rest by herself.  I have been guilty in the past of almost doing it all for her or correcting what she has done to make it perfect, but I am having to just let go and let her create the way she sees it.  I do still help with the glue so that one project doesn’t use an entire bottle of glue.  She did a great job on this one!!

She drew the mouth on her shamrock man and glued the eyes on first.

100_6603

Then she glued the accordion-style arms and legs on and attached the small shamrocks for hands and feet.

100_6605

She was pretty excited about her Shamrock Man and couldn’t wait to show it to Nana and Grandpa!

100_6607

This was a pretty fun and easy craft that I felt comfortable letting her take the lead and create, except for the glue, and we had a lot of  fun.  We haven’t done it yet, but we are going to punch a hole in the top of his head and use some string to hang him up for decoration.

He will make a lovely birthday decoration as well, since today is my mother’s birthday.  Cheyenne made Nana a birthday card, which I will share tomorrow.  We will be celebrating her birthday today and going out to dinner tonight and Cheyenne wants to go to Monster Yogurt (our favorite frozen yogurt place) for Nana’s birthday dessert!

So we have a fun filled day and evening ahead of us!!

I hope you all have a wonderful St. Patrick’s Day!!

Asign

 

 

 

Linking up with:

123Homeschool4Me Link Up                             Show & Share Saturday                     Link & Learn         PastedGraphic-1

4 thoughts on “St. Patrick’s Day Man

  1. That turned out really cute! What a fun craft.

  2. He’s a cute little fella.

    Thanks for linking to The Sunday Showcase.

Leave a Reply

